The history of our house

The history of our house

The hotel and restaurant "Zum Ritter" has a rich history and dates back to the stylistic period of Renaissance Revival. The building was erected in 1890 and has been a crucial part of Fulda’s history and the traditions and habits of its inhabitants ever since. 

In 1926, the artist and church painter Hugo Pfister created the colorful frescos in the newly established Rittersaal. Since that time, the paintings "Ackerbau" and "Weinbach" have been restored several times, enabling the painting’s cheerful characters to look down on our guests to this day.

Bearing in mind that 100 years ago the predecessor building hosted the postillion with a fleet of 40 horses, history comes alive. The landgrave Anna of the nearby Castle Fasanerie rode in the Ritter postillion’s coach and purchased a piano from the aunt of the last German Kaiser that still stands in the Rittersaal.